Transportation Policy Board

image: Be part of the transportation conversation. Click here to learn more. Opens in new window

The Transportation Policy Board (TPB) is the principal advisory body to the Council on all matters of regional transportation planning. Its members evaluate a wide range of economic, environmental, and social issues and studies as they relate to transportation and provide informed recommendations to Council.

A Transportation Retrospective - 25 Years of the Transportation Policy Board


  • Typically, the 2nd Wednesday of each month
  • 7:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.
  • Remote with an option for members of the public and Board members to attend in person at 2411 Chandler Court SW, Olympia, WA 98502, if they do not have access to the internet. Note: some meetings may be in person with advance notice. 

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes I View All Agendas and Minutes

The Transportation Policy Board Bylaws establish operating procedures for the Board. 

Transportation Policy Board Bylaws


Members include representatives from all voting members of the Council in addition to representatives from Washington State Department of Transportation Regional Office, the Port of Olympia, Intercity Transit, up to three representatives of major employers or businesses, two community representatives, and one state agency representative. Any members of the Washington State House of Representatives or Senate whose districts are wholly or partly within the boundaries of Thurston County are considered ex officio, nonvoting members of TPB (2nd, 20th, 22nd, and 35th legislative districts).

  • Andy Ryder, Chair, City of Lacey
  • Carolina Mejia, Thurston County
  • Dani Madrone, First Vice Chair, City of Olympia
  • John O’Callahan, City of Tenino
  • Peter Agabi, City of Tumwater
  • Ron Kemp, City of Rainier
  • Brian Hess, City of Yelm
  • Amy Loudermilk, Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation
  • Heidi Thomas, Nisqually Indian Tribe
  • Don Melnick, Intercity Transit
  • Joe Downing, Port of Olympia
  • Gaius Sanoy, WA State Dept. of Transportation - Olympic Region
  • TBD, State Agency Representative
  • Garrett Kendall, North Thurston Public Schools
  • Emeritus Representative, Pete Kmet  (selected Jan 2022 - term expires Jan 2024)  
  • Michelle Murray, Community Representative (selected Sept. 2022 - terms expires Sept. 2025)
  • Travis Millar, Community Representative (selected Sept. 2022 - terms expires Sept. 2025) 
  • Renee Radcliff Sinclair, Business Representative, Second Vice Chair (selected for another term Sept. 2022 - term expires Sept. 2025)
  • Jessica McKeegan-Jensen, Business Representative (selected Sept. 2022 - terms expires Sept. 2025) 
  • David Wasson, Business Representative (selected Sept. 2022 - terms expires Sept. 2025) 

Ex Officio Members - Washington State Legislature

2nd Legislative District

  • Senator Jim McCune
  • Representative Andrew Barkis 
  • Representative J.T. Wilcox

20th Legislative District

  • Senator John Braun
  • Representative Peter Abbarno
  • Representative Ed Orcutt

22nd Legislative District

  • Senator Sam Hunt
  • Representative Beth Doglio
  • Representative Jessica Bateman

35th Legislative District

  • Representative Travis Couture
  • Representative Drew MacEwen
  • Representative Dan Griffey